top of page

Light Cafe, Wimbledon Village

It was a very cold and windy Sunday, so with this and carrying a rather large hangover I was in dear need of some warm comfort food. My friend Ben recommended Light Cafe in Wimbledon Village, as that was a convenient place for both of us to meet. He had been there before for breakfast, but I hadn't. But with Ben being a massive foody, I trusted that it would be a good spot.

The place looked very inviting and full of smiling customers. It looked promising! We were greeted by a waiter and were placed right by the window, so we were able to look out onto the high street. As we had missed the breakfast slot, we were given the main menu which had a nice selection to choose from. I went for the Chicken, Leek & Ham Hock Pie with Winter Greens and Parsley Potatoes. As the potatoes were a side, and not actually part of the pie dish, I expected it to be a decent size pie, and like with any, a decent amount of filling. There is nothing worse then ordering a pie and the ratio of pastry to filling isn't right. But when it came out, I wasn't let down. It was a huge portion, and was absolutely delicious! Once I had cut open the pastry top, the pie was full of chicken and ham hock meat. The ham hock just melted in your mouth and was so tender it just fell apart, the combonation and flavours were perfect.

Overall it was a very enjoyable experience and I would definitely go back and reccomend the place. Our total bill came to arround £34, which included service. I had the pie and a side of potatoes, with a pot of tea and Ben had the burger and a coffee. Very reasonable.

bottom of page